LetterReady Work with a counselor

Neuroscience transfer to UCLA

UCLA admitted 22% of Neuroscience transfer applicants for fall 2025. Below are UCLA’s own preparation and selection rules, the programs that give priority and your odds.

Checked against official UC and campus sources in November 2026.

At a glance

UCLA admit rate, fall 2025
22%
Admitted GPA, middle half
3.80–3.95
Selection criteria
Yes
TAG at UCLA
No TAG

UCLA reports these numbers for Neuroscience, counting all transfer applicants. The campus as a whole admitted 26.1% of community college applicants for fall 2025.

What UCLA expects

  • Neuroscience

    Courses to finish

    As a life science major, Neuroscience requires one year of biology with lab, one year of calculus, one year of general chemistry with lab and one semester of organic chemistry with lab. A second semester of organic chemistry and one year of calculus-based physics are strongly recommended. Source

    Selection

    The College lists Neuroscience as highly selective with direct admission only. Demand for life science majors significantly exceeds space, and no minimum GPA is stated. Source

    Also note

    Students must be directly admitted into a life science major and cannot switch into one or add it as a second major after enrolling at UCLA. Source

    UCLA says transfer students must complete major preparation by the end of spring before transfer. Source

    For Fall 2027 applicants, requests to change to a major in The College, Education, Engineering, Public Affairs or Public Health are due January 1, 2027. Source

    Every UCLA major

    Applicants should complete most or all major preparation, and it must be finished by the end of the spring term before transfer. Source

    Only applicants certified through the Transfer Alliance Program (TAP) are reviewed for an alternate major. All other applicants are reviewed for their first-choice major only. Source

No TAG at UCLA

UCLA doesn’t offer TAG. Two programs change how UCLA reviews you: the Transfer Alliance Program (TAP) for honors students, and the ADT pilot for students at ten partner colleges.

Every UC program that gives transfer priority

Your odds

Move the GPA to see a regular-review range at UCLA.

3.40

Far reach

About 2–10% in regular review for applicants like you

  • Major preparation is the factor UC readers weigh most for transfers — often ahead of GPA.

Regular-review estimate for a California resident on track for 60 units and the 7-course pattern, with major prep unconfirmed. The full calculator adds your prep, residency and TAG status.

The same major at other campuses

CampusSelection criteriaTAG
UC BerkeleyYesNo TAG
UC San DiegoYesNo TAG
UC IrvineNone statedNot stated
UC DavisYes3.20
UC Santa CruzYes3.00
UC RiversideYes2.80
UC MercedNone statedNot stated

All nine campuses side by side

Other majors at UCLA

Questions

What GPA do you need to transfer to UCLA for neuroscience?

UCLA admitted 22% of 226 transfer applicants to Neuroscience for fall 2025, and the middle half of admits had GPAs of 3.80–3.95.

What classes do I need to transfer to UCLA for neuroscience?

As a life science major, Neuroscience requires one year of biology with lab, one year of calculus, one year of general chemistry with lab and one semester of organic chemistry with lab. A second semester of organic chemistry and one year of calculus-based physics are strongly recommended. Check each course on ASSIST for your college.

Can I get a TAG for neuroscience at UCLA?

UCLA doesn’t offer TAG. Two programs change how UCLA reviews you: the Transfer Alliance Program (TAP) for honors students, and the ADT pilot for students at ten partner colleges.

Sources

  1. UCLA Transfer Profile by Major, Fall 2025
  2. UCLA: Neuroscience preparation
  3. UCLA: Neuroscience selection criteria
  4. UCLA: Neuroscience notes
  5. ASSIST